peanut butter banana muffins

Coffee meets muffin. Made these super easy no sugar peanut butter and banana mini muffins in under 30 mins this morning. Inspired by paleOMG’s blueberry muffin recipe, but I switched it up a bit. I used crunchy peanut butter for a little crunch and added a mashed banana to the mix before baking. I also topped each muffin with a super thin banana slice before baking. With a side of coffee and strawberry jam (no refined sugar), these are my jam!

RECIPE:

* 1 cup peanut or almond butter (I used crunchy all natural unsalted TJ’s almond butter)
* 1 cup of almond meal/flour (Bob’s Red Mill blanched almond flour is awesome and less gritty than the regular almond flour)
* 3 eggs whisked
* 1/2 cup raw honey
* 1/3 cup room temp coconut oil (I used Spiral Organic for baking)
* 1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut (I skipped this and didn’t miss it)
* 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
* 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
* 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
* pinch of cinnamon
* 1 ripe banana mashed for mix
* 1 ripe banana sliced for tops of muffins

Mix the wet and dry ingredients in separate bowls and then combine. Juli from paleOMG doesn’t do this but i find it helps a lot! Add the mashed banana to the mix just until incorporated.

I’m not a fan of muffin papers, so I don’t use them. I sprayed my mini muffin tin with coconut spray from TJ’s which is a godsend (no calories which I think has to be a mistake)! Fill each cup to just below the brim and add a thin slice of banana to each muffin. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 15-20 minutes. Once they are done and have cooled for a few minutes, I run a butter knife around the edge of each to loosen them up, and they should pop right out. They are delish!

photo by http://www.kyleespeletaphotography.com/

Leave a Reply

